Madurai Kamaraj University (MKU), established in 1966, has 20 Schools comprising 77 Departments, 21 academic centres, 98 affiliated Colleges and 15 Institutions. University Grants Commission (UGC), New Delhi has recognized MKU as a “University with a potential for Excellence”. The School of Biological Sciences (SBS), Madurai Kamaraj University (MKU), has its unique origin in the early 60's as a postgraduate extension centre of the Department of Zoology, University of Madras at Madurai. The founder and chief architect of SBS was Prof. S. Krishnaswamy, who later became the Vice-Chancellor of Madurai Kamaraj University. When the PG extension centre became the Madurai University in 1966 (later Madurai Kamaraj University), Prof. S. Krishnaswamy, founded the Department of Biological Sciences. Just a decade later, the Department of Biological Sciences was elevated to School of Biological Sciences on the recommendation of UGC. Currently SBS has 8 Departments. SBS is a Centre of Excellence in Genomic Sciences supported by various funding agencies.

In the year 1962, Prof. S. Krishnaswamy and S. V. Job organized an informal club to discuss the latest advances in the field of Animal Physiology among their research groups. This entailed the discussion of both aquatic and terrestrial organisms and was known simply as Aqua-Terr, since 1969, a forum for the students of the SBS to present their work on Friday of every week. This success was extended into annual celebrations of Aqua-Terr as a one-day conference. The year, 2019 constitutes the Golden Jubilee year: a milestone for Aqua-Terr and this international conference is organized as part of golden jubilee celebrations.