Madurai Kamaraj University (MKU), established in 1966, has 20 Schools comprising 77 Departments, 21 academic centres, 98 affiliated Colleges and 15 Institutions. Madurai Kamaraj University offers 44 PG, 40 M.Phil, 57 Ph.D programmes and 17 Diploma/ P.G Diploma/ Certificate courses in various Departments. University Grants Commission (UGC), New Delhi has recognized MKU as an “University with a potential for Excellence”.