The School of Biological Sciences (SBS), Madurai Kamaraj University (MKU), has its unique origin in the early 60's as a postgraduate extension centre of the Department of Zoology, University of Madras at Madurai. The founder and chief architect of SBS was Prof. S. Krishnaswamy, who later became the Vice-Chancellor of Madurai Kamaraj University. When the PG extension centre became the Madurai University in 1966 (later Madurai Kamaraj University), Prof. S. Krishnaswamy, founded the Department of Biological Sciences. Just a decade later, the Department of Biological Sciences was elevated to School of Biological Sciences on the recommendation of UGC. Currently, SBS has 8 Departments namely Animal Behaviour & Physiology, Biochemistry, Genetics, Immunology, Microbial Technology, Molecular Biology, Plant Sciences and Plant Morphology & Algalogy. Since 1972 the UGC has recognized SBS for continuous support through several levels of assistance such as COSIP, DRS, COSIST, DSA (Phase I, II and III), Centre of Advances Studies (CAS) in Functional and Organismal Genomics (Phase I, II and III), Centre for Excellence in Genomics Sciences (CEGS Phae I and II) and Networking Resource Centre in Biological Sciences (NRCBS) (Phase I and II). The Department of Biotechnology (DBT), Government of India has recognized SBS for “Interdisciplinary Programme in Life Science for Advanced Research and Education (IPLS) and Department of Science and Technology (DST) recognized and supported SBS for FIST Programme (2002-2022) (Repeat Cycle I, II & III).